Home » Ramadan » Ramadan Reflection Day 19: Halal vs Haram

Ramadan Reflection Day 19: Halal vs Haram

Partly paraphrased from Shaykh Ibrahim’s Friday khutbah:

We’ve made it through basically 2/3 of the month. Alhamdulillah we’ve been able to stay away from the halal – food and drink – while fasting. That’s great. The thing is… if we can stay away from the halal, why is it so difficult to stay away from the haram?

We have no problem fasting. Yet backbiting? Can’t stop that. Skipping salah? No issue there. Lowering our gaze? Too difficult. All the little sins we do on a daily basis? We can still do those. See where the disconnect is?

By staying away from the halal, it teaches us that we *can* stay away from the haram. It’s possible. We just have to try. Put in that effort. We know that Allah swt is watching us so we don’t sneak in a sip of water. But every time we sin, Allah swt is still watching us. So why sneak in the sin?

We’re human. We make mistakes. It’s what we do after the mistake, the sin, that matters. Sometimes we despair thinking we can’t fix it but no matter how many times we fall, as long as you’re still alive and breathing, get back up and try again:

‘Someone committed a sin and then said: “O Allah! Forgive me my sin.”

Allah said: “My servant committed a sin, but knew that he has a Lord who forgives sins and punishes sins.”

Then he committed the sin again and said: “My Lord! Forgive me my sin.”

Allah said: “My servant committed a sin, but knew that he has a Lord who forgives sins and punishes sins.”

Then he committed the sin again and said: “My Lord! Forgive me my sin.”

Allah said: “My servant committed a sin, but knew that he has a Lord who forgives sins and punishes sins. Do as you will, for I have forgiven you.” [Bukhari & Muslim]’

May we be of those who fear the punishment of our Rabb and those who have hope in the mercy of our Rabb. Ameen.

Leave a Reply

