Home » Ramadan » Ramadan Reflection Day 16: Love for Others What You Love for Yourself

Ramadan Reflection Day 16: Love for Others What You Love for Yourself

‘On the authority of Abu Hamzah Anas bin Malik, radhiaAllahu ‘anhu, the servant of the Messenger of Allah, sall Allahu ‘alayhi wa salaam, said: “None of you will believe until you love for your brother what you love for yourself.”‘ [Bukhari & Muslim]

A week ago, I saw a sister at Jummah whose hijab caught my eye. It was really pretty, mashaAllah (yes, girl moment) and I made a mental note to tell her I thought so. She was someone I hadn’t met before so I thought it would break the ice and lead to a conversation. A couple days ago, I ended up sitting next to her before Isha. Realizing it was her, I told her this and we talked hijabs for a bit before salah began.

Last night, I walked into the musallah and saw her smiling face. She waved me over and had a bag sitting next to her. After saying salaam, she gave me the bag. ‘This is the hijab. I want you to have it. I only wore it once so please don’t mind that. All I ask is you keep me in your du’aas.’

I was floored. SubhanAllah. I had been thinking, after she told me which store she had gotten the hijab from, that I would go there myself and look for others. She gave no indication that she would do this nor did I expect she would. (It was such a huge reminder of how our rizq – be it money, food, clothes – comes from ways in which we cannot even imagine. Truly Allah swt provides in ways only He is capable of.)

How many of us can give that which we love – whether we have used it yet or not – readily to someone? I mean, I had *just* met her. The only thing bringing us together is praying taraweeh next to each other and now, this hijab. She had barely worn this hijab and was so willing to give it to someone she had just met. I was truly humbled.

We don’t realize the impact of the little things in life – a smile, kind words, a gift. When given from the heart, those things stay with us for the rest of our lives and mean way more than any material gain. In these blessed days, she will be in my du’aas – and beyond, inshaAllah.

Leave a Reply

